C
Argelès-sur-Mer

Argelès-sur-Mer

Situated in the heart of the Pyrénées-Orientales, the town of Argelès-sur-Mer is the ideal place for your holidays, especially during the summer period. This touristic area located between the sea and the mountains, close to the Albères Massif, allows you to practice all kinds of land sports activities such as mountain biking, hiking, trail, horse riding, but also many water sports such as sailing, paddle, windsurfing, canoeing, kite surfing, but also lazing around on one of the huge beaches of Argelès-sur-Mer.

The Village of Argelès-sur-Mer

Long linked to the kings of Aragon and Mallorca, Argelès-sur-mer only became a French village in 1659, and even today retains many traces of this Catalan presence, which can be seen in the local traditions, culture and food.

Stroll through the small typical streets of the region, relax in one of the cafés or restaurants you will come across and take advantage of this break to admire the style of the village that surrounds you, the colorful houses, the flower-filled squares, the narrow streets, the traditional and craft markets, or its famous church of Our Lady of the Prat.

The port of Argelès

Argelès-sur-Mer also has a charming marina where you can moor for an unforgettable stopover in the heart of the Pyrénées-Orientales and Catalan lands. Restaurants and shops of all kinds will allow you to discover the Catalan culture. You will also enjoy strolling around the port, discovering its squares and why not get lost in the middle of the nearby vineyards to admire the incredible scenery.

The beach

The beaches of Argelès-sur-Mer are perhaps one of the most attractive points from a tourist point of view. In fact, every year, many visitors come to Argelès-sur-Mer to stroll and enjoy its beaches.

On the 10 km of coastline that runs along the town, there are more than 7 km of fine sandy beaches, with the imposing Pyrénées-Orientales and the Albères massif as a backdrop. All along these large beaches, which are very popular with tourists and especially with families who appreciate peace and security, you will find a total of 7 beach clubs, each offering different maps and activities.

Along the rocky coast you can admire the magnificent creeks of Porteils and Ouille, quieter and wilder, where you will enjoy swimming.

Another emblematic beach of the town of Argelès-sur-mer, Le Racou. Meaning “the nook” in Catalan, you will appreciate this place between rocky coast and fine sand beaches, known for the charm of its peaceful atmosphere and its small houses by the sea.

The town of Argelès is also labelled Blue Flag of Beaches and Marinas. This year again, the efforts put in place for cleaner water and beaches have enabled the town to keep this distinction for the 31st consecutive year. Indeed, the beaches are cleaned every day by the municipality, and many improvements are made for the safety of bathers, such as the 7 first aid posts set up along the beach.
The beaches are supervised by M.N.S. (lifeguard lifeguards) from the 1st May to the 29th September 2019. Finally, you should also know that one of these bathing supervision posts is labelled Handiplage, which means that it is accessible and equipped to accommodate the physically disabled.
You will appreciate the walk along the seafront, ideal for admiring the splendid sunset and enjoying the view.

Although the beach is one of the city’s strongest tourist attractions, the city’s cultural and historical heritage is also well represented and attracts many tourists.

The Valmy Castle

The most visited site is the Municipal Park of Valmy, where there is a botanical circuit, but also the castle. Built at the end of the 19th century, this majestic building is surrounded by a park and vineyards; a shady and spacious area offering a breathtaking view of the Eastern Pyrenees and the Mediterranean Sea.
Close to the castle of Valmy you can visit the park of the eagles of Valmy. A rare place where you can meet and admire many species such as vultures, eagles, crows and parrots. The park is open every day in July and August and you will be able to observe the birds of prey in freedom. You will also have the opportunity to chat with the falconers who will teach you many things.

The festivities

Argelès-sur-Mer is also very famous for its festivities throughout the summer season.

The “Déferlantes”

Among these activities is the annual “Festival des Déferlantes Sud de France”. Indeed, every summer since 2007, this festival of French and international music takes place over several days. The 13th edition of the Déferlantes Sud de France will be held this year from the 5th to the 8th of July 2020 and will welcome famous artists such as Nekfeu, Gringe, Dionysos, Macklemore, Aya Nakamura, BigFlo and Oli, Thirty Seconds to Mars, Patrick Bruel, Feder, Dadju, Thérapie Taxi, or Jain.

Festivities of Argelès-sur-Mer

Argelès-sur-Mer is a renowned seaside resort and its image as a dynamic resort is very important to it. This is why the town organises numerous events throughout the summer period to the delight of both tourists and locals.
A very full summer agenda offers everyone, young and old, renowned festivals such as the Déferlantes, more traditional festivals to allow everyone to discover Catalan folklore, the sardana, summer corsos and many other emblems of Catalan culture, pride of the Pyrénées-Orientales. You will also find in this programme exhibitions, entertainment for children, sporting and festive events.

Among these events, the city organizes numerous markets all over the city.
For example, you will find a traditional market in Argelès Village every Wednesday and Saturday. In Port-Argeles there are 3 different markets every week, only in summer. A traditional market on Thursday mornings, a more terroir and organic market on Tuesday mornings and night markets on Tuesdays and Fridays. Finally, Argelès Plage will host 2 markets only in summer, the traditional market on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings, as well as a craft market every evening from 13 June to 22 September 2019. You will taste local specialties and discover the friendliness and authenticity of Argelès.

The “allée des pins”

Small alley located on the seafront, the pine alley, famous for the diversity of its shops: bars, ice-cream parlours, street vendors, restaurants, pizzerias, pancake shops, snack bars, souvenir shops, presses, is an emblematic place of the city, illuminated every evening of the summer for years.

The children’s fair

On the waterfront, at the level of the Venetian Park, you will find a small fairground with many rides and other activities suitable for the youngest, from 2 years old.

Luna Park

In July and August you can enjoy the Luna Park, a summer fair that covers more than a hectare every year. There are many rides for children, but also thrilling attractions for older children.

The Casino of Argelès-sur-Mer

Open all year round for the enjoyment of players, the city’s Casino is located on the waterfront, where you can go to play one of the many games such as the 70 slot machines, ball games, Black Jack and electronic English Roulette. But you can also go to the Casino to enjoy the organised theme evenings, buffets, entertainment and the restaurant. The Casino Joa d’Argelès-sur-Mer is open every day from 11pm to 3am during the summer.

Collioure

Close to Argelès-sur-Mer you will find the village of Collioure. If you have the opportunity during your stay go for a walk in the pretty winding streets of this charming seaside village, a must in the Pyrénées-Orientales department. Like Argelès, Collioure has a small marina, where it is pleasant to stroll, especially because it offers a breathtaking view over the entire bay of Collioure.

Other places of interest nestled on either side of the town will give you a view of the bay of Collioure and its creeks. You will also like to discover the royal castle and the church Notre-Dame des Anges, an emblematic monument of Collioure.

Contact us

Camping Le Pearl ****
Route de Taxo à la mer
66700 ARGELES SUR MER
Pyrénées-Orientales
Languedoc-Roussillon

TripAdvisor

 04 68 81 26 49 – Contact us by phone Monday to Friday from 9am to 12am and from 1pm to 5pm

Camping open to the public from the 4th of April until the 4th of October 2020

  • I book

Argelès-sur-Mer

Située au coeur des Pyrénées-Orientales, la ville d’Argelès-sur-Mer est le lieu idéal pour vos vacances, notamment en période estivale. Ce territoire touristique logé entre mer et montagne, tout près du Massif des Albères, vous permet de pratiquer toutes sortes d’activités sportives terrestres telles que le VTT, la randonnée, le trail, l’équitation, mais aussi de nombreuses activités nautiques comme la voile, le paddle, la planche à voile, le canoë-kayak, le kitesurf, mais aussi le farniente, sur l’une des immenses plages d’Argelès-sur-Mer.

Le Village d’Argelès-sur-Mer

Longtemps lié aux rois d’Aragon et de Majorque, Argelès-sur-mer n’est devenu un village français qu’en 1659, et conserve aujourd’hui encore de nombreuses traces de cette présence catalane, que l’on retrouve au travers des traditions, de la culture et de la cuisine locale.

Promenez-vous dans les petites rues typiques de la région, laissez-vous aller à la détente dans l’un des cafés ou restaurants que vous rencontrerez et profitez de cette pause pour admirer le style du village qui vous entoure, les maisons colorées, les places fleuries, les ruelles étroites, les marchés traditionnels et artisanaux, ou encore sa fameuse église Notre-Dame del Prat.

Port-Argelès

Argelès-sur-Mer possède également un charmant petit port de plaisance au sein duquel vous pourrez vous amarrer pour une escale inoubliable au cœur des Pyrénées-Orientales et des terres Catalanes. Restaurants et commerces en tous genres vous permettront de découvrir la culture catalane. Vous apprécierez également de vous balader de part et d’autre du port, pour en découvrir les places et les pourquoi pas vous perdre au milieu des vignes toutes proches, pour admirer ce décor incroyable.

La plage

Les plages d’Argelès-sur-Mer sont peut-être l’un des points les plus attractifs d’un point de vue touristique. En effet, chaque année dès les beaux jours, de nombreux visiteurs se rendent à Argelès-sur-Mer pour flâner et profiter de ses plages.

Sur les 10 km de côtes qui longent la ville, on compte plus de 7 km de plage de sable fin, avec en toile de fond les imposantes Pyrénées-Orientales et le massif des Albères. Tout au long de ces grandes plages très prisées par les touristes et plus particulièrement par les familles qui apprécient le calme et la sécurité, vous trouverez en tout 7 clubs de plage proposant chacun des cartes et activités différentes.

Le long de la côte rocheuse vous pourrez admirer les magnifiques criques de Porteils et de l’Ouille, plus calmes et sauvages, où vous apprécierez de vous baigner.

Autre plage emblématique de la ville d’Argelès-sur-mer, Le Racou. Signifiant “le recoin” en Catalan, vous apprécierez ce lieu entre côte rocheuse et plages de sable fin, connu pour le charme dégagé par son ambiance paisible et ses petites maisons en bord de mer.

La ville d’Argelès est également labellisée Pavillon Bleu des Plages et Ports de Plaisance. Cette année encore, les efforts mis en place pour une eau et des plages plus propres ont permis à la ville de conserver cette distinction, pour la 31è année consécutive. En effet, les plages sont nettoyées tous les jours par la municipalité, et de nombreux aménagements sont effectués pour la sécurité des baigneurs, comme les 7 postes de secours aménagés en bord de plage.
Les plages sont surveillées par des M.N.S (Maîtres Nageurs Sauveteurs) du 1er mai au 29 septembre 2019. Enfin sachez également que l’un de ces postes de surveillance de la baignade est labellisé Handiplage, ce qui signifie qu’il est accessible et équipé pour accueillir les handicapés moteurs.

Vous apprécierez la promenade sur le front de mer, idéal pour admirer le splendide coucher du soleil et profiter de la vue.

Bien que la plage soit l’un des attraits touristiques les plus forts de la ville, le patrimoine culturel et historique de la ville est également bien présent et attire de nombreux touristes.

Le Château de Valmy

Le site le plus visité est le Parc municipal de Valmy au sein duquel on trouve un circuit botanique, mais également le château. Construit à la fin du 19ème siècle, ce majestueux édifice est entouré d’un parc et de vignes ; un espace ombragé et spacieux, offrant une vue à couper le souffle sur les Pyrénées-Orientales et la mer Méditerranée.
Tout près du château de Valmy vous pourrez visiter le parc des aigles de Valmy. Un lieu rare où vous pourrez rencontrer et admirer de près de nombreuses espèces telles que les vautours, aigles, corbeaux ou encore perroquets. Le parc est ouvert tous les jours en juillet et août et vous pourrez y observer les rapaces en liberté. Vous aurez également l’occasion de discuter avec les fauconniers qui vous apprendront de nombreuses choses.

Les festivités

Argelès-sur-Mer est également très réputée pour ses festivités tout au long de la saison estivale.

Les Déferlantes

Parmi ces activités, on retrouve chaque année le Festival des Déferlantes Sud de France. En effet, tous les étés depuis 2007, a lieu ce festival de musique française et internationale qui se déroule sur plusieurs jours. La 13ème édition des Déferlantes Sud de France se tiendra cette année du 5 au 8 juillet 2019 et accueillera de célèbres artistes comme Nekfeu, Gringe, Dionysos, Macklemore, Aya Nakamura, BigFlo et Oli, Thirty Seconds to Mars, Patrick Bruel, Feder, Dadju, Thérapie Taxi, ou encore Jain.

Festivités de la ville d’Argelès-sur-Mer

Station balnéaire renommée, Argelès-sur-Mer tient beaucoup à son image de station dynamique. C’est pourquoi la ville organise de nombreuses manifestations tout au long de la période estivale pour le bonheur des touristes, mais aussi des locaux.
Un agenda estival très fourni offre à tous, petits et grands, des festivals de renom comme les Déferlantes, des fêtes plus traditionnelles pour permettre à tous de découvrir le folklore catalan, la sardane, les corsos d’été et bien d’autres emblèmes de la culture catalane, fierté des Pyrénées-Orientales. Vous retrouverez également dans cette programmation des expositions, des animations pour les enfants, des événements sportifs et festifs.

Parmi ces rendez-vous, la ville organise de nombreux marchés aux quatre coins de la ville.
Vous trouverez par exemple un marché traditionnel à Argelès Village, tous les mercredis et samedis. A Port-Argeles se déroulent chaque semaine 3 marchés différents, uniquement en été. Un marché traditionnel le jeudi matin, un marché plus orienté terroir et bio le mardi matin et les marchés nocturnes les mardis et vendredi. Enfin, Argelès Plage accueillera 2 marchés uniquement en été, le marché traditionnel les lundis, mercredis et vendredis matin, ainsi qu’un marché artisanal tous les soirs du 13 juin au 22 septembre 2019. Vous goûterez ainsi aux spécialités locales et découvrirez la convivialité et l’authenticité d’Argelès.

L’allée des pins

Petite allée située en front de mer, l’allée des pins, réputée pour la diversité de ses commerces : bars, glaciers, marchands ambulants, restaurants, pizzerias, crêperies, snacks, boutiques de souvenirs, presses, est un lieu emblématique de la ville, illuminé chaque soir de l’été depuis des années.

La fête foraine pour enfants

Sur le front de mer, au niveau du parc vénitien, vous trouverez une petite fête foraine avec de nombreux manèges et autres activités adaptés aux plus jeunes, à partir de 2 ans.

Luna Park

En juillet et août vous pourrez profiter de Luna Park, une fête foraine estivale qui s’étend chaque année sur plus d’un hectare. De nombreux manèges pour enfants, mais également des attractions à sensations fortes pour les plus grands.

Le Casino d’Argelès-sur-Mer

Ouvert toute l’année pour le plus grand plaisir des joueurs, le Casino de la ville est situé en front de mer, vous pourrez vous y rendre pour jouer à l’un des nombreux jeux comme les 70 Machines à sous, les jeux de la boule, le Black Jack et la Roulette Anglaise électronique. Mais vous pourrez aussi vous rendre au Casino pour profiter des soirées à thème organisées, des buffets, des animations et du restaurant. Le Casino Joa d’Argelès-sur-Mer est ouvert tous les jours de 11h à 3 h du matin en période estivale.

Collioure

Tout près d’Argelès-sur-Mer, vous trouverez le village de Collioure. Si vous en avez l’occasion au cours de votre séjour allez vous balader dans les jolies rues sinueuses de ce charmant village balnéaire, un incontournable du département des Pyrénées-Orientales. Comme Argelès, Collioure possède un petit port de plaisance, où il est plaisant de flâner, notamment parce qu’il offre une vue imprenable sur l’ensemble de la baie de Collioure.

D’autres lieux d’intérêt nichés de part et d’autre de la ville vous permettront d’avoir une vue sur la baie de Collioure et ses criques. Vous aimerez aussi découvrir le château royal et l’église Notre-Dame des Anges, monument emblématique de Collioure.